Volunteers' Week Awards Ceremony 2019

Published on 7 June 2019 Categories: Awards,  Volunteers' Week

We hosted our annual Volunteer Awards Ceremony, as part of Volunteers’ Week, on Thursday 6 June at Newbattle Abbey College. 

Over 40 nominations were received across a variety of categories and 10 awards were presented on the night. The evening is always an inspiring showcase of the variety of volunteering which takes place across Midlothian. We were lucky to be joined by Colonel Richard Callander, Vice Lord Lieutenant of Midlothian, Provost Peter Smaill, Councillor Debbi McCall and of course our sponsors. 

The event would not be possible without the support of Newbattle Abbey College and the award sponsors: EDF Energy, Midlothian Council Communities Team, Midlothian Council Lifelong Learning and Employability, Midlothian Health & Social Care Partnership, Police Scotland, The Rotary Club of Esk Valley and the Scottish Qualifications Authority. Thank you also to the SQA for printing our programmes for the evening. 

2019 Award Winners

Outstanding New Volunteer Award

presented by Councillor Debbi McCall, Volunteering Champion for Midlothian Council on behalf Midlothian Council Lifelong Learning and Employability

Winner: Joy Godfrey, Mayfield and Easthouses Development Trust

Befriender/Mentor of the Year Award

presented by Chief Inspector Arron Clinkscales, Police Scotland

Winner: Colin Pow, CLEAR Project - Health in Mind

Active Volunteering Award

presented by Kate Goan & Faith Scott, EDF Energy

Winner: Arthur McKenzie, Midlothian Ranger Service

Service to the Community Award

presented by Paul Johnson, Midlothian Council Communities Team

Winner: Kari Calder, Rosewell Development Trust

Health & Wellbeing Award

presented by Allister Short, Midlothian Health & Social Care Partnership

Winner: Patient Buddies, Midlothian Community Hospital Garden - Cyrenians

Long Service to Volunteering Award

presented by Annemarie Meikle, The Rotary Club of Esk Valley

Winner: Dave Mackay, Rosewell Development Trust (Award was collected by Robert Scott on Dave's behalf)

Volunteer Manager of the Year Award

presented by Rosemary Mooney & Laura Gemmell, SQA

Winner: Mark Wells, Food Facts Friends Foodbank in Penicuik

Saltire Summit Awards

Winners: Kelsee Hall, Elsie Holstead, Catrine McMillan & Callum Wylie

Volunteer Team of the Year Award

presented by Colonel Richard Callander, Vice Lord Lieutenant of Midlothian

Winner: Midlothian Community Garden Longstanding Volunteers - Cyrenians

Volunteer of the Year Award

Winner: Ross Perfect, Loanhead Children's Day

Pictured below are all of our 2019 award winners, nominators and sponsors.