Volunteers' Week Awards Ceremony 2016

Published on 3 June 2016 Categories: Awards,  Volunteer Midlothian,  Volunteers' Week

We hosted our annual Volunteer Awards Ceremony, as part of Volunteers’ Week, on Thursday 2 June at Newbattle Abbey College. 

Over 40 nominations were received across a variety of categories and 10 awards were presented on the night. The evening is always an inspiring showcase of the variety of volunteering which takes place across Midlothian. We were lucky to be joined by Lieutenant Colonel Richard Callander, Vice Lord Lieutenant of Midlothian & his wife Lady Mary Callander, Provost Joe Wallace and Owen Thompson MP for Midlothian. 

The event would not be possible without the support of Newbattle Abbey College and the award sponsors: EDF Energy, Midlothian Council Lifelong Learning and Employability, Midlothian Integrated Joint Board, NHS Lothian, Police Scotland, The Rotary Club of Esk Valley and the Scottish Qualifications Authority.

2016 Award Winners
Outstanding New Volunteer Award

presented by Gael Belton & Eric Le Du 

Winner: Steven Middlemass, Midlothian Sure Start

Befriender/Mentor of the Year Award

presented by Alison White, Midlothian Integrated Joint Board

Winner: Christopher Wilson, Volunteer Midlothian Transform Project

Active Volunteering Award

presented by Andrew Moodie, EDF Energy

Winner: Ross Hutchison, Lasswade High School Duke of Edinburgh Programme

Service to the Community Award

presented by Chief Inspector Kenny Simpson & Sergeant Lynne Robson, Police Scotland

Winner: Midlothian Community Stroke Service, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland

Health & Wellbeing Award

presented by Caroline Myles, NHS Lothian

Winner: John Duncan, Horizons Recovery Café

Long Service to Volunteering Award

presented by Mark Johnston & Alan Symon, The Rotary Club of Esk Valley

Winner: Sheila Johnston, Lasswade High School PHAB Club

Volunteer Manager of the Year Award

presented by Angela Ray & Laura Gemmell, SQA

Winner: Sqn Ldr Barry McAdam RAFVR(T), Air Training Corps

Saltire Summit Awards

presented by Keiran Harvey, Saltire Ambassador & Angela Ray, SQA

Winners: Leia Ainscough, Alasdair Brady, Darren Butters, Callum Kennedy, Lewis Riley, Kirsty Robertson, Rebecca Robertson & Emma Sinclair

Volunteer Team of the Year Award

presented by Lieutenant Colonel Richard Callander, Vice Lord Lieutenant of Midlothian

Winner: Midlothian Plusone Mentors

Volunteer of the Year Award

presented by Owen Thompson MP

Winner: Adele McGowan, Home Link Family Support

Pictured below are all of the 2016 award winners, sponsors and invited guests.